Trans people in Uruguay can now self-identify their gender, without surgery

feels-by-the-foot:

multishippers-hate-antis:

the-defiant-pupil:

feels-by-the-foot:

profeminist:

“Transgender people in Uruguay are celebrating after the country’s Congress passed a comprehensive trans law yesterday (18 October).

The law brings in a host of new rights for transgender people.

Most notably, trans people can now self-identify their gender and update their legal name, without approval from a judge.

The new law also creates scholarships for trans people to access education, as well as sets up affirmative action. It also now acknowledges the self-identification of non-binary people.

The comprehensive law also creates a monthly pension for transgender people born before 1975. This is a way of making reparations for trans people who were targeted by the government during the country’s dictatorship from 1973 to 1985.

The reparations are effective of 1 January this year and affect anyone born before 31 December 1975.

The new law also requires government services to employ a minimum of 1% of the transgender population.

62 of 88 senators voted in favor of the new law.”

Read the full piece here

WOW!!! Go Uruguay Go!!!

U.S. readers, register to vote here – in some states you can still register for the November election! This week shows how much we have to gain or lose depending on who gets in office.

This isn’t progress.

This is so far from progress it’s not even funny. 

Everyone needs to go through a judge to change their personal information, even their names. That applies to cis people too.

Affirmative action is a terrible thing and is anti-equality.

Nonbinary genders don’t real and recognizing them is fucking transphobic.

And lastly, self-identification of a bloody medical condition is the dumbest thing in the goddamn world. I now self-identify as a cancer patient so give me chemotherapy, kthnx. Oh and I totally have ADHD too so give me Ritalin because clearly I need it because I said so.

This is absolutely disgusting and y’all are worse than the fucking dysphoria. 

Excuse me? I can understand the going through a judge and self-identification (though I don’t agree with truscum views personally I can see where you’re coming from there,) but calling non binary people “transphobic” and saying they don’t exist? What the fuck??? Most enbies actually HAVE dysphoria, it isn’t fair to exclude them because you only think there are two genders. There are days I legitimately do not feel comfortable as a woman, when I am especially stressed or my hormones are imbalanced. But on those days I have never, not ONCE felt comfortable identifying as a man. 

You claim that all trans people need to have dysphoria? Well guess what? A lot of enbies have dysphoria too. Don’t exclude them or invalidate them. That’s bigotry and isn’t progressive either. 

ENBIES

I’m fucking losing it, can we skip all of this and go back to people being normal?

Atypical dysphoria is a thing and it can be classed as nonbinary, however I see a lot of “trender enbies” (you know the ones) making things harder for the dysphoric ones. 

That being said atypical and typical dysphoria are medical conditions, not identities. 

Trans people in Uruguay can now self-identify their gender, without surgery

Leave a comment