“if you’re not angry you’re not paying attention” used to be such a powerful phrase but now it’s more accurate to say “if you’re not angry you’re probably exhausted by 5+ years of Panic Outrage Mode and are nearing the limit of your emotional range for reacting to this shit”
or alternately
“if you’re not angry it’s probably because you just plain can’t get outraged any more, are sick and tired as a result of being repeatedly lied to, guilt tripped, or even victimized by a scammer, but you also don’t say anything because you don’t want a new asshole to get ripped open by saying something that contradicts the prevailing sentiment on a website that you found fun before”
See the big thing is, it’s not new. The big new problem is that we have a generation and a half who got taught some pretty damaging shit, like everything needs to happen now, everything is political, and you are your labels.
Ever wonder how older activists avoided this burn out? They recognized that slow change generally lasts because it changes at a societal level, they knew that, no Professor Ineedtenure, not everything is political. They knew the only label that actually matters is human, everything else is just ephermal.
The biggest probpem is, we have people taught both academically and societally by people who only want them as numbers for a paycheck, who act like they have good intentions all the while will do anything, including poisoning the well, to ensure that they never have to worry about their paychecks.