I’m all for not sticking to strict gender roles but the main
issue I have with Tumblr Softboy Culture is the idea that being unmasculine
makes you a morally better person, when in reality it doesn’t.You know it’s kind alarming that there are people in the notes who honestly think being stereotypically masculine makes you an abuser and you can overcome being manipulative, controlling, and toxic by acting cute and having soft pastel aesthetics and not being into sports and grilling.
The attitude described in the OP is one of the reasons I’m still struggling to finally accept my masculity.
>You know it’s kind alarming that there are people in the notes who honestly think being stereotypically masculine makes you an abuser and you can overcome being manipulative, controlling, and toxic by acting cute and having soft pastel aesthetics and not being into sports and grilling.
It’s also, ironically, sexist and abusive.
A lot of feminists talk about ‘toxic masculinity’. I like to ask them if there are any good parts of traditional masculinity. I don’t think I’ve ever gotten a response.
They try to weasel around it by insisting they only hate the bad parts but they don’t, they just hate masculinity. Period.
The irony is that they act like feminists invented the idea of men protecting women and/or being deferential to them.